Join PLASA / Follow us on twitter / Follow us on facebook



Press Office


23 July 2012

2012 Gottelier Award nominees announced

UK - PLASA has announced the shortlist of nominees for this year's prestigious Gottelier Award.

Named in honour of Tony Gottelier, the designer, innovator and industry commentator who died in 2006, this prestigious annual presentation aims to recognise "the product designers and developers who have made a significant and sustained contribution to the development of the equipment and tools that enable our entertainment technology practitioners to continually push the boundaries of event production, presentation and installation".

This year, a panel of 20 people, all with links to the PLASA organisation or its Media divisions, was invited to put forward their suggestions for the most deserving individuals or teams according to this criteria. From there, the final shortlist of six nominees was reached.

The nominees for the 2012 Gottelier Award are:

Nick Archdale
Nick Archdale's career began with the formation of the Digital Lighting Desk Company (DLD) in 1985. Later, with support from SpotCo, Archdale became one of the three founders of Flying Pig Systems (along with Tom Thorne and Nils Thorjussen). Flying Pig Systems was central to the lighting control revolution of the 1990s, with the emergence of the company's iconic Wholehog product line: the Wholehog II control desk, previewed at PLASA in 1994, was to become the most ubiquitous control surface in the business. Later, Archdale took his talents in a new direction when he co-founded another serial innovator - Carallon. The company's multi-award winning Pharos product line has made a similar impact on the world of architectural lighting control to that made by the Wholehogs in show lighting.

Chris Cronin
In almost 35 years in the business, Chris Cronin has had a hand in pushing forward many of the developments we take for granted. From the days of PAR cans and Raylights to the T2 safety truss, and from the Medium Duty truss to Take That's 'Big Man', Chris has applied his enthusiasm and ingenuity to products which have benefited thousands of projects all over the world. Having started his career with James Thomas Engineering in 1978, Chris left to start Tomcat Ltd in 1985, before founding Total Fabrications Ltd (TFL) in 1989, later expanding to become Total Solutions Group (TSG). In all that time, Chris has been at the forefront of the entertainment staging industry, developing flexible, safe trussing structures.

Dr. Christian Heil
Dr. Christian Heil founded L-Acoustics in 1984. His introduction of the L-Acoustics V-DOSC line array system in the mid-1990s led to a fundamental shift in the live sound market, and line array systems proliferated for the next decade and a half. Scarcely a pro loudspeaker manufacturer on the planet has failed to join the line array party. Still Heil and L-Acoustics continue to refine the line array concept: the KIVA ultra-compact system came to market in 2008; the K1 system - seen as the long-awaited successor to the ground-breaking V-DOSC - debuted in 2009; and the KARA modular line source system followed in 2010.

Wayne Howell
Wayne Howell began his career in entertainment technology in the mid-80s at Avolites, where he first learned computer programming and contributed to the development of the QM500 and Rolacue desks. In 1988 he founded Artistic Licence, a specialist lighting control solutions provider. Since then, his innovative products such as Micro-Scope DMX tester, the Lamp Tramp, the DMX-Dongle, DMX-Split, Pixi-Web and Visual Patch have won many industry accolades and formed key elements to many notable projects in entertainment and architectural lighting worldwide. He contributed to the development of ESTA standards DMX512 and RDM, created Art-Net - the royalty-free DMX-over-Ethernet protocol - and initiated the Zero Carbon Project. He is also the author of the books Control Freak and Rock Solid Ethernet.

John Meyer
One of the true pioneers of modern pro audio, John Meyer started his career in sound reinforcement back in 1967 when he assembled a custom amplification system for The Steve Miller Band at the Monterey Pop Festival. From there it progressed through his first fully integrated loudspeaker system, built for Creedence Clearwater Revival's last tour, loudspeaker linearity research at the Institute of Advanced Music Studies in Montreux, Switzerland and involvement with the Grateful Dead, for whom he provided audio advice, research and experimentation alongside Don Pearson and the late Owsley Stanley. With his wife Helen, John founded Meyer Sound Laboratories in 1979, and the company has gone on to become a world leader in sound reinforcement. In 1985, Meyer was made a Fellow of the Audio Engineering Society, and in 2007 was awarded the organisation's Silver Medal.

Pasquale Quadri
For over 30 years, Italian manufacturer Clay Paky has been a leading force in the manufacture of entertainment lighting fixtures, all the while under the auspices of company founder, Pasquale Quadri (or 'Paky' as he is better known). Once the acknowledged kings of the discotheque lighting market with their series of iconic lighting effects including the world-famous Golden Scan, the company has more recently reinvented its market presence with the introduction of the highly acclaimed and multi-award winning Alpha Series of moving head luminaires, and more recently still, the popular Sharpy fixture. Paky has managed to keep a strong mix of innovation and reliability in an increasingly commodity-led market place.

The winner will be decided by a peer voting process. All 11,800+ visitors pre-registered for the PLASA Show will be invited, via email, to vote for their choice, as will representatives of 1200+ PLASA member companies worldwide. To cast your vote, look out for your email from PLASA, or contact us direct at

The Winner of the 2012 Gottelier Award will be announced at the PLASA Show on Monday 10 September, at 6.00pm in the Central Bar area of Earls Court 1.

Further Information:
This will be the sixth time the Gottelier Award has been presented. The previous winners are as follows:

2007 - Tony Andrews
2008 - John Stadius
2009 - Alex Cooper
2010 - Fred Foster
2011 - Terry Clarke

Notes to Editors:

PLASA is the lead professional body for businesses that supply technologies and services to the event, entertainment and installation industries. Operating from offices in Europe and North America, the Association provides business support services to its growing worldwide membership, writes industry standards, leads the development of qualifications and focuses on improving the business practices adopted by the industry. With over 1100 members worldwide, it represents one of the largest member networks in the industry.

PLASA also runs successful media and events divisions and is responsible for the industry-leading magazines Lighting&Sound International, Lighting&Sound America and Protocol and the PLASA Show in London, together with the European and North American regional PLASA Focus events.